

Local Government Reorganisation – 1st of April 2023

Four Unitary Councils are being created to replace three County and seventeen District Councils in England. The following table shows a list of the new organisations and those they are replacing. Schools, Parish Councils and other organisations linked to the former Councils will be updated accordingly.

*Cumbria County Council is shown twice as its area will be split across the two new Unitary Councils in Cumbria).

| Oscar ID | New Council | New Type | Old Oscar ID | Old Council | Old Type | | | |
|-------------|------------------------------------|-------------------|-----------------|------------------------------------|------------------|--|--|--|
| 304716 | Cumberland Council | Unitary Authority | 241136 | *Cumbria County Council | County Council | | | |
| | | | 241004 | Allerdale Borough Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 241079 | Carlisle City Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 241122 | Copeland Borough Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | | | | | | |
| 304717 | Westmorland and Furness Council | Unitary Authority | 241136 | *Cumbria County Council | County Council | | | |
| | | | 241026 | Barrow Borough Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 241199 | Eden District Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 241530 | South Lakeland District Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | | | | | | |
| 304718 | North Yorkshire Council | Unitary Authority | 241429 | North Yorkshire County Council | County Council | | | |
| | | | 241133 | Craven District Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 241250 | Hambleton District Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 241258 | Harrogate Borough Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 241486 | Richmondshire District Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 241501 | Ryedale District Council | Non-Met District | | | |



| | | | 241504 | Scarborough Borough Council | Non-Met District | | | |
|--------|------------------|-------------------|--------|--|------------------|--|--|--|
| | | | 241509 | Selby District Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | | | | | | |
| 304720 | Somerset Council | Unitary Authority | 241520 | Somerset County Council | County Council | | | |
| | | | 241373 | Mendip District Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 241507 | Sedgemoor District Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 241536 | South Somerset District Council | Non-Met District | | | |
| | | | 296940 | Somerset West & Taunton District Council | Non-Met District | | | |